Thoughts about video & YouTube

banner YouTube

YouTube is like an unrequited love that always got away.

My relationship with YouTube is a strange one. For the longest time, I’ve been filming and editing videos. Editing is really calming for me. It all started with making mini-movies in the Sims 2 game. Then it upgraded to filming random footage with friends to trying it out myself.

Unfortunately the channels fell apart due to lack of interest from my partners or my own procrastination. I’ve tried everything including: comedy, gaming, beauty and fashion. There was always something missing. There are a million ideas in my head but something always deterred me.

I actually have no idea what is behind my motivation to create video content again. The hard part is figuring out what to do! YouTube is flooded with so many content creators, it’s super easy to get lost in the crowd. The key to success will be mine if I figure out what niche is left unfulfilled. Often times, smart people become successful by noticing a void exists and figuring out a way to fill it. Vera Wang, the fashion designer started doing bridal wear because she didn’t find anything in the market she liked. It may┬átake a while to figure out what I want to do, but all I know is that it’ll be something nerdy!

My experience at BuzzFeed is an eye-opening one and it definitely sparked something. Any progress or announcements will be on my blog or Twitter, so stay tuned!

Reply

