Demon Hunter: The Construction & Painting

Warning: Picture heavy!

IMG_9575 IMG_9579

Show off the Worbla + craft foam sandwich. Worbla does stick to craft foam nicely! I think I will definitely do more Worbla and foam sandwiches in the future. The weight is considerably less than two sheets of the thermoplastic.

maxresdefault (1)

IMG_9580 IMG_9581 IMG_9582 IMG_9583

The crossbow base I used was the Nerf Zombie Strike Crossfire Bow. The size and weight of the gun is perfect; I wish I had the funds to buy two of them. Didn’t have time to sand out the Nerf logos and words but it still looks good regardless.

IMG_9586 IMG_9588 IMG_9589 IMG_9591

Detailing the armor was the most tedious of the process. Imagine cutting dozens of straight lines. Cutting the Worbla was also a bitch, too. I had to bust out my silver sewing scissors because they broke the handles of a regular pair. IMG_9592 IMG_9593

The silver D rings are there for attaching the elastic later. What I plan to do is pull elastic and velcro through those rings to make the armor fit to my body as nicely as possible.

IMG_9594 IMG_9595 IMG_9596 IMG_9597

Next came the priming/sealing step. I was worried about the wood glue because my armor had a ton of curved and wood glue doesn’t sit well. But after 3-4 layers, I had silky smooth results. Since you have to mix the glue with one part water, it got really runny sometimes. To combat that, I just added an extra layer on curved parts with thicker glue (less water) combo.

IMG_9602 IMG_9604

I don’t have pics of the next step since the armor was spray-painted black and then silver. The silver spray-paint was super shiny and lovely but I wanted a weathered, warrior look. To achieve that, I used black/grey acrylic paint to create shadows and cracks.

IMG_9605

Here’s the final product! I think it looks really good! Next week I should have the final installment of this cosplay process series with good pics of everything worn. Have one day left until the office party – there’s still some small details I have to add.

Next: Part 4 – The Grand Finale

Previous: Part 2 – Sewing & Patterning 

Part 1 – Planning 

 

3 thoughts on “Demon Hunter: The Construction & Painting

  1. Pingback: Demon Hunter: The Grande Finale | FairyFlux

  2. Pingback: Demon Hunter: Sewing & Patterning | FairyFlux

  3. Pingback: Demon Hunter: The Planning | FairyFlux

Reply

