Art Nouveau Snow White: The Grand Finale

IMG_20160612_143803

Magic mirror on the wall, who is the fairest one of all?

IMG_2084IMG_2086

My sleeves turned out better than I hoped. This shape is SO hard to get in real life (without making the fabric opaque). I hope to finish the edges of the blue sparkle fabric and add more gems to the bottom band. These sleeves utilize a snap button closure.IMG_2089IMG_2091

I hate hate that collar, hence the raw edges. I had to be sewn into the collar because it was too loose. In the future, I plan to rip out the collar and then attach a velcro fastening instead. IMG_2093

This was also my first time sewing an invisible zipper and it was pretty painless! They look a lot more professional than regular zippers, especially on dresses. My only tips are to work slowly and use a zipper foot. IMG_2087IMG_2096

Many of the other Art Nouveau Snow White cosplayers didn’t have a hand chain. The big strands are from Forever 21. I hand beaded the hand chain and used gold jump rings to attach it to the pearl strands. The draped sleeves are also sewn to an elastic on these bracelets.IMG_2099

On the left is my chiffon skirt I ordered from Amazon, after my fabric dying incident (aka the dye didn’t like the fabric). The skirt on the right is my lining skirt I made earlier, that I was able to wear underneath this chiffon skirt! I want to add glitter floral details on the bottom of the yellow chiffon.

IMG_2100

Snapchat-1277352857828379712

That’s it! I’m really happy with my costume. This costume had so much hand sewing and beading elements, I’m glad I finished in time. It’s a good beginning and it can only look better when I add more embellishments.

One thought on “Art Nouveau Snow White: The Grand Finale

Reply

