Hand Beading Isn’t Hard

IMG_2109.JPG

Hand beading was always intimidating but I finally took the plunge.

IMG_2113

Make sure your fabric is thick enough to hold up heavy beading. My Snow White bodice has three layers (including interfacing). Some would recommend using nylon/fishing line type thread but I’ve used regular thread without any problems. If you expect heavy beading, the lighter thread will probably work better.

IMG_2123

Seed beads are the best for hand beading. I’ve found that a variety of bead sizes will help your design look more complicated than it is. IMG_2112

For the sleeves, I’ve done this alternating pearl and seed beed pattern. Use your smaller seed beads to frame the larger ones! IMG_2104IMG_2125IMG_2126

The hardest part about beading is figuring out what pattern looks best. My original ideas weren’t always the ones I stuck with. I pulled out and redid my work several times (I’m glad I did). Sitting in front of the tv and beading will make the time go by faster.

Here’s a great tutorial by Angela Clayton. I used her tutorial as a jumping off point. There are a ton of books and YouTube videos to help you get started. Luckily beading is very intuitive and you figure a lot of things on your own while doing it.

Reply

